Allie Quigley wins WNBA 3-Point Contest a record fourth time – WGAU


CHICAGO — (AP) — Once Allie Quigley got going, it was all over.

The 3-point queen put on quite a show – again.

Quigley won the WNBA 3-point contest for a record fourth time on Saturday, cementing herself as one of the greatest shooters in league history.

No one in the NBA or WNBA has as many 3-point titles as Quigley, who also won the competition last year. She had been tied with Larry Bird and Craig Hodges with three each.

“It’s really cool to be in the history books with so many great shooters,” Quigley said. “Larry Bird, I don’t know who else, but Larry Bird is enough for me.”

After winning last year in Las Vegas, Quigley, 36, said it was her last 3-point contest. The crowd booed the decision.

Then the WNBA announced that the 2022 All-Star Game would be held in Chicago, and Quigley, who is from nearby Joliet, played college ball at DePaul and helped the Sky win the WNBA title last season, said was taken out of retirement.

It won’t happen again, she said.

“One hundred percent, 120 percent, that’s it,” she said. “You won’t see me again.”

Going last in the final round, Quigley easily fended off Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins and Atlanta Dream guard Rhyne Howard. After Atkins put up 21 points and Howard 14, Quigley rolled to 30 points.

Sky teammate Candace Parker, wearing a Quigley DePaul jersey, and Quigley’s wife Courtney Vandersloot, another Sky guard, jumped for joy as Quigley blasted her way through a perfect final rack.

“They are my biggest fans,” Quigley said.

New York Liberty guard Sabrina Ionescu and Zoe Brooks, a point guard from New Jersey who committed to North Carolina State, combined to win the Skills Challenge. Ionescu and Brooks beat Indiana Fever forward NaLyssa Smith and Victoria Flores, a Texas prep point guard, in the final.

The Skills Challenge format paired a WNBA player with an Elite Youth Basketball League player competing in the 2022 Nike Nationals for an all-court obstacle course.


Jay Cohen can be reached at


More AP Sports: and


About Author

Comments are closed.